regretful beginnings // why do I do these things to myself?? (one)
February 14th // 8:24 AM
Hello world!
Thank the LORD that this project allows us to write using our own voice, it makes it a lot more genuine.
So. Welcome to my blog. I'm very excited to get started and hope you guys are ready for this wild ride! Let's start from the beginning, before the project was assigned.
I've known about this project for a pretty long while, mostly because my two older sisters went through this program as well. It came faster than I thought, though. About two weeks ago, we were told to start generating ideas for the project, and in doing so I discovered one thing. I don't have any passions??? Like, truly. It was seriously difficult to think of even one idea. I like to game a lot, but I didn't think that was a viable option. Eventually, I did think of something that I've always neglected to do: distance runs. I run indoor and outdoor track, and we usually have meets on Saturdays. The day after the meet, Sunday, is when we are supposed to get a long run in. I'm going to let y'all in on a little secret: I NEVER DO THEM! Part of the reason for that is because I'm just lazy. I don't really feel like running if I don't have to.
I'm considering running XC next year, along with winter/spring track, and I told this to a fellow teammate who runs all three. He said that "I need to learn to appreciate distance runs" if i want to do XC. So I was like "crap." I kinda do need to do that, and I saw this project as an opportunity to develop a real appreciation for running.
That's really all I got for right now, but I will check back in tomorrow morning after my first run! That's right, the grind starts tomorrow. Wish me luck, and I'll see you then.
February 15th // 6:06 AM
First run, done. Not as bad as I thought it was going to be, but still pretty terrible. It was cold and dark. This is what my travels looked like:
Overall I thought it was a pretty good run (went a little too fast in the beginning because I was scared of my neighborhood). It was dark until I reached the college campus. I don't think I ever mentioned the end goal to this project. Of course, some side goals are to drop my times in track, but a real goal by the end of these six weeks is to run 13.1 miles (half marathon) once before school. I think that would be a pretty cool thing to cross of my bucket list. Stay tuned next blog post for more run updates and some heavy research on running on the brain (brain project pt. 2??).
But for now, I'll catch y'all later.
Gotta blast!
February 15th // 6:06 AM
First run, done. Not as bad as I thought it was going to be, but still pretty terrible. It was cold and dark. This is what my travels looked like:
and here is a Strava breakdown
===========================================================
But for now, I'll catch y'all later.
Gotta blast!
Seriously, you've chosen a great topic. You'll get in shape, you'll improve for track, and you'll enjoy doing it. It seems as though you don't enjoy running in the morning when it's cold and dark. I would try running in the afternoon instead if I were you. (Plus running after school lets you sleep in in the mornings.) I would recommend is figuring out a diet that works, since that extra running may take a toll on your body if you don't eat the right foods. Good luck with that half mile, it will be quite an accomplishment.
ReplyDeletethanks so much for the comment, Evan! actually, this has really opened my eyes to a new workout plan. the sole reason i was running in the morning was because i had track everyday after school, and soccer every other day, so there wasn't much time to run. track season has actually just ended, and we're in off-season for about two weeks (bless up). i think for these next two weeks i'll run after school, rather than before, because i'd rather not kill myself. thanks for the helpful tips and well-wishes, i hope your project is going great as well!
DeleteLemme just say that I seriously admire your project. I don't know about everyone else, but I absolutely hate running. This is why I play sports. But anyway, I get bored after 5 minutes and then I can't think of anything other than how bad I want to stop running. I've found that the best way to get my mind off of the monotony is by listening to Ted talks/NPR, but even still, running is the worst. My point being, you've taken up a huge challenge, something that I think is really brave. It's going to be hard, but how else are you supposed to get any better? You're going to grow as a person for sticking with something (even though you don't really enjoy it), and I think this speaks multitudes about your personality. You're willing to try new things and are very persistent. I can't wait to see how far you go!
ReplyDeleteGotta blast
lol loved the little outro you had there ;), but thanks a lot Emma! i really appriciate the kind words (gonna need this to get through the project). i think that finding a really good podcast would be a great idea for my runs, i haven't really thought of that. right now, i just listen to music, which i agree can get repetitive. the only podcast i've every listened to in full was Serial podcast, but there are only two seasons and i've finished them both :/. i'll have to see what i can find out there on the interwebs. thanks again for the suggestions and the kind words!
DeleteFinally writing in our own voice, I completely agree. This project let's us use slang and it seems like you will be using slang a lot. I really like the gif (pronounced like the "g" in gigantic) that you added to the title page. Maybe by the end of this project you'll be zooming on the track half as fast as me. I run four miles in about 20 minutes, so you've got some catching up to do. Lol jk, have fun running, and remember to wear reflective clothing at night. As everyone knows, reflective clothing increases your chance of being seen by a driver (I have a reflective vest if you want it).
ReplyDeletethanks for le reply, Robert! I agree I pronounce "gif" like the second g in gigantic, too! Also, thanks for the helpful tips to not get hit by a car. However, I just got these things called knuckle lights, and they're brighter than i thought they would be... I think cars will be able to see me in the dark.
Delete