high FIVE because this jawn is over!
talking about TED
the night before and morning of were just fantastic, per usual.
just kidding. that was sarcasm. it was not fun.
on sunday, the day before the talk, I still had a little refining to do. but by a little I really do mean a little. I really wanted to nail this talk, so I had my script basically completed before they day before it was due holy crap new record new record new record!!! that refining took longer than expected, and I also had to create the actual PPT presentation, and by the time I knew it, it was already like 8 o'clock. here's the google slides presentation if ya wanna see it.
that's not very late, but I was set on completing one final goal for this project. memorization. the only other project/presentation i didn't use note cards for was the christmas tree project (how to), but that was an accident. I couldn't find my note cards right before the presentation and i was like "o sh*t." but honestly it worked out really well.
I think that set something off, and made me realize that i really don't need to rely on note cards, so I didn't anymore. I thought it would be a major accomplishment for myself if i memorized this speech, so I did.
from the hours of 8-12 that night all i did was practice practice practice. and then i decided that sleep was probably of use because YOUR BRAIN IS A SPONGE WHEN YOU SLEEP AND YOU WILL REMEMBER EVERYTHING WHEN YOU WAKE UP RIGHT???!!! actually kinda yeah that works...
the morning of I woke up at 6:00, about a half-hour before I usually do, just to get a few more practice runs in.
the real deal
okay so day fours suck for presenting because i had to suffer through two classes before I presented, essentially just stressing for like two hours. but finally, the time had come and I slowly walked to the audion, like Katniss, walking up to take her sister's spot in The Hunger Games.
I enter the room and see some students and Perlman chillin, but not McD because he took his grand ol time getting there :)). they're all talking and having fun meanwhile I'm rehearsing the script in my head, over and over again, freaking out because I keep forgetting things/getting distracted by all the noise.
finally McD shows up and we can start the presentations, first Peter goes and crashes his drone, giving a great (and humorous) presentation along the way. the clicker seemed to be off when he was using it, but I assumed it was just user error. *spoiler it wasn't*
6 minutes passed and it was my turn WOOOOOO! I get up and plug my computer in. test the audio because i was starting off with a video, and the audio worked YAYYAY!!! so i go offstage (bc that's how i was starting), and play the video. the video plays... but IT HAS NO GODDAMN AUDIO THAT JUST WORKED THREE SECONDS AGO WHAT LE HECK. so I jump off stage to try to fix the audio, but to no avail. so i hop back on stage, and decide to say "screw the video", and just skip to the part of my presentation right after the video.
i was a little shook to be honest, so the first minute of the talk was a little rough. the clicker wouldn't change slides from the video, so there was just a random video of me with no audio in the background while i was talking about something completely different. finally, though, things settled in and it all worked out well.
to be honest, i think me not using the video may have been more useful to my message than if i had used the video. the video talked about a motivational message that I really didn't discuss at any point later on, so actually thank you technology for being an idiot.
the final finale
| the breakdown of my half marathon run |
the image on the left is shows the trail I ran. I started at my house (crap now you know where I live please don't rob me), and ran all the way to the GA track, and then back towards the school, and ended at my cousins house. the picture above was just one of the pictures I took along the trip, enjoying various beautiful nature things.
all in all, I'm extremely happy with the way things turned out. the TED talk was a success - no use of note cards and no major screw ups. projectrunn was a success, and I completed two goals I had - run 13.1 miles and understand the reasons why I should run.
thank you to everyone who read/followed any of my blog/vlog posts. I truly hope you got a laugh or two out of them. and for one last time...
gotta blast.











